Congratulations to the 2018 HJA Recipients | Our Legacy

The BBPA Harry Jerome Awards. Recognizing excellence in the African-Canadian community.

The BBPA Harry Jerome Awards is recognized as the most prestigious national awards gala in the African-Canadian community and a coveted symbol of achievement. This years winners receive awards in the following categories: Academics, Arts, Athletics, Business, Community Service, Diversity, Entertainment, Health Sciences, Leadership, Lifetime Achievement, Media, President’s, Professional Excellence, Trailblazer and Young Entrepreneur.

The BBPA was proud to honour and celebrate the following award winners for 2018:

  • Kien Crosse – Academics (Sponsor – BBPA)
  • Luke Welch – Arts (Sponsor – BBPA)
  • Rowan Barrett Jr – Athletics (Sponsor – Jeromes/BBPA)
  • Lamont Wiltshire and Odeen Eccelston – Business (Sponsor – Bell)
  • Keith Merrith – Community Service (Sponsor – RBC Royal Bank)
  • Mike Yorke – Diversity (Sponsor – Ontario Government)
  • Jully Black – Entertainment (Sponsor – G98.7FM)
  • Floydeen Charles-Fridal – Health Sciences (Sponsor – Afro Global)
  • Caroline Marful – Leadership (Sponsor – Benjamin Law)
  • Pamela Appelt – Lifetime Achievement (Sponsor – BBPA)
  • Matt Galloway – Media (Sponsor – BrandEq)
  • Pauline Christian – President (Sponsor – BBPA)
  • Dr. Yabome Gilpin-Jackon – Professional Excellence (Sponsor – Nursing Homemakers Inc )
  • Jennie Gumbs – Public Advocacy (Sponsor – Guy Steer)
  • Dr. Kwame Mackenzie – Trailblazer (Sponsor – TD Bank)
  • Nadia Hamilton – Young Entrepreneur (Sponsor – Carpenters Union)

Our Legacy | The 2018 HJA Recipients

Harry Jerome, whose talent and tenacity on and off the track inspired a generation of Canadians to “never give up” in their own endeavours.

Celebrate Afro-Canadian Excellence

Let’s Make Magic